March 29, 2023

South West Community Sport Awards – 2023 Winners Announced – Media Release

What an incredible night, and celebration of grassroots community sport in the south west, with Wednesday nights South West Community Sports Awards, held in Warrnambool. With over 150 people in attendance from right across the region, it was a chance to get together and celebrate the people, clubs, and organisations making it all happen.

With seventeen award categorieson the night, including awards focussed on fantastic club efforts to promote inclusion, participation, and innovation, as well as a handful of individual awards celebrating community sport volunteerism and leadership. The awards this year, were truly a celebration of community sport, South West Sport Executive Officer Marc Tims said, ‘, we were really grateful to be joined by a full houseof community leaders, sports representatives and organisations to experience an exceptionally successful night.’ He said ‘the organisation was thrilled with support from their co naming sponsor Ace Radio, and all of this year’s category sponsors to be able to put on an event to recognise and celebrate the tireless efforts of so many volunteers from the community.’

The event was a reflection ofthe broader work the local not for profit organisation does to support community sport across the region, with categories aligning to the organisations strategic focus to drive healthier, more inclusive, and active communities in the south west, as well as reflecting the organisations future focus aspirations of driving gender equity, inclusion, innovation and sustainability through sport.

With winners from a wide range of sports and from alllocal governments across the south west including Corangamite, Glenelg, Moyne, Southern Grampians, and Warrnambool, it was a fantastic opportunity to celebrate collectively on the night.

2023 Award Winners

Club Of the Year – Port Campbell Surf Life Saving Club
Women’s Leadership in Sport Award – Josephine McDowall, Warrnambool Surf Life Saving Club
Emerging Leader in Sport – Darcy Tribe, Port Campbell Surf Life Saving Club
Coach/Official of The Year – Jayson Lamb, Warrnambool Swimming Club
Keith Wilson Chairperson Award – Grace Brown, Australian Road Cyclist from Corangamite
Celebrating Diversity & Inclusion in Sport Award - Russell’s Creek Football Netball Club
Healthy Club Initiative of The Year - Simpson Football Netball Club
Club Innovation Award – Hockey South West
Women’s Participation Initiative of The Year – Portland Yacht Club
Youth Participation Initiative of The Year – Hockey South West
All Abilities Participation Initiative of the Year –Warrnambool Tri Club
Community Sport & Rec Event of The Year – Port Fairy Marathon
Community Sport Volunteers of the Year, Corangamite – Emma Lucas, Terang Mortlake Football Netball Club
Community Sport Volunteers of the Year, Glenelg – Scott Cleary, South Coast Raceway
Community Sport Volunteers of the Year, Moyne – Barb Brooks, Koroit & District Basketball Association
Community Sport Volunteers of the Year, Southern Grampians – Jeanette Ryan, Hamilton Sportswoman’s Association
Community Sport Volunteers of the Year, Warrnambool – Kim Tobin, Warrnambool Lawn Tennis Club